Rangertour: Species-rich mountain meadows - diverse valley Virgental

On this hike with a ranger, you will experience the outer zone of the national park from its most impressive side. Agricultural activities have created species-rich and colourful mountain meadows. We climb up over the meadows to the highest point (Katinalm 1,900 metres above sea level). Then we hike across a block forest to the Stabanthütte (1,800m above sea level). Many species favour this block forest as their habitat. Countless mosses and ferns can be found there, as well as the Sebenstrauch or Sadebaum, which is still widespread in the Virgental valley. After a short break at the Staban hut, the route continues

Meeting point: Tourist information office Prägraten am Großvenediger
Total walking time: approx. 3 hours
Metres in altitude: 450 (ascent and descent)
Kilometres: 10
Difficulty: medium (children from 6 years)
Cost: adults € 22.00; children up to 14 years € 15.00

Registration online by 5.00 pm the day before.

Event Dates
Thu, 11.07.2024 - 09:00 o'clock
Thu, 18.07.2024 - 09:00 o'clock
Thu, 25.07.2024 - 09:00 o'clock
Thu, 01.08.2024 - 09:00 o'clock
Thu, 08.08.2024 - 09:00 o'clock
Thu, 15.08.2024 - 09:00 o'clock
Thu, 22.08.2024 - 09:00 o'clock
Thu, 29.08.2024 - 09:00 o'clock
Thu, 05.09.2024 - 09:00 o'clock
Thu, 12.09.2024 - 09:00 o'clock
Thu, 19.09.2024 - 09:00 o'clock
show more
show less
event destination

Virgental,

Prägraten am Großvenediger
contact details
Nationalparkhaus Matrei
Kirchplatz 2
9971 Matrei in Osttirol

Newsletter

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive the best tips every month for current offers, mountain tours, events and much more.