The Jagdhausalm nestle in a picturesque natural setting at 2009 metres altitude, at the end of the Defereggen valley. They comprise 17 stone houses and the Maria-Hilf chapel and are among the oldest alpine inns in Austria. 6 alpine inns, known in common parlance as "Schwaighöfe", have existed here since 1212. Since the settlement is located above the treeline and not much wood was available to build with, the buildings have been constructed almost totally from the stones which were in the area.
Finds dating from the 7th millennium B.C. confirm that the region around the nearby Klammjoch was a popular camping area for hunters and gathers, even in the Early Stone Age. The Jagdhausalmen buildings themselves are mostly used as stables, supply stores and accommodation for alpine dairymen today. The Jagdhausalmen are accessible from St. Jakob. From the town of Erlsbach a toll road proceeds to the Oberhausalm snack station, which is once again an ideal starting point for a hike to the Jagdhausalmen.