A voyage of discovery into the glacier foreland

Hiking
National park
National park

At first glance, areas that have become ice-free - glacier forelands - look like inconspicuous, lifeless rubble heaths. But the first impression is deceptive, because after only 5 to 10 years the areas are colonised by animals and plants and used as a habitat. Experience this unique area with the ranger, away from the hiking trails, and enjoy the magnificent mountain world at the foot of the Großglockner.

Meeting point: hikers' car park Johannishütte, Hinterbichl, Prägraten a.G.
Total walking time: 4-5 hours
Metres in altitude: 500-600
Kilometres: approx. 10
Level of difficulty: medium (suitable for children from 10 years)
Mountain boots absolutely necessary!

Cost: € 25,00 for adults

Registration required! Please register by 5.00 p.m. at the latest the day before at Tel.: +43 4875 51 61 10

Wed, 13.07.2022
08:15
additional event days
Wed, 20.07.2022 - 08:15 o'clock
Wed, 27.07.2022 - 08:15 o'clock
Wed, 03.08.2022 - 08:15 o'clock
Wed, 10.08.2022 - 08:15 o'clock
Wed, 17.08.2022 - 08:15 o'clock
Wed, 24.08.2022 - 08:15 o'clock
Wed, 31.08.2022 - 08:15 o'clock
Wed, 07.09.2022 - 08:15 o'clock
Wed, 14.09.2022 - 08:15 o'clock
event destination
Dorfertal, Prägraten a.G., Prägraten am Großvenediger
contact details
Nationalparkhaus Matrei
Kirchplatz 2
9971 Matrei in Osttirol

Newsletter

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive the best tips every month for current offers, mountain tours, events and much more.